BGColor: #ededed
Font: Lato
Prime Color: #222222
Second Color: #ea0e0e
Third Color: #790fe2

Young Horticulturist of the Year 2024 Ireland final announced

Chloe Callanan, a third-year Teagasc/SETU student, emerges victorious in the competition showcasing the nation's budding talent in horticulture



Read More:

25 March 2024

The Ireland Final of Young Horticulturist of the Year (YHOY) 2024 was held on Thursday, 14 March.  Each year this round of the competition sees the top eight young horticulturists across Ireland battle it out to represent our region in the YHOY grand final next May.  

The winner on the day was Chloe Callanan, a third year Teagasc/SETU student based at the National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin.  

These young competitors (all of whom must be under the age of 30 to compete) have already fought off stiff competition in Round one of the contest, a virtual multiple-choice quiz which runs throughout the month of February each year.

The Ireland Final turned up the heat, with a 10-round live quiz, which included a mixture of buzzer and directed rounds, combined with Plant ID and Pest, Weed and Disease identification rounds.  

This year’s Final, hosted by the National Botanic Garden, Glasnevin, was an exciting event with the highest scores in a long time. It remained closely contested until the end, with five out of eight finalists bringing valuable experience from previous competitions, adding an edge to the event.

YHOY Ireland introduced a new element this year with a guest presentation, featuring horticulturist and designer, Paul Smyth. His captivating stories and insights from “Life in Horticulture” left our young horticulturists inspired and engaged.

Carol Marks presented the prizes on behalf of YHOY’s sponsors, Bord Bia. Each finalist received a cash prize along with their certificates, generously donated by Bord Bia. The Ireland Branch of the Chartered Institute of Horticulture extends gratitude to Bord Bia for their ongoing support, which makes hosting this annual event possible.

Final Results:

1st: Chloe Callanan, SETU/Teagasc College of Horticulture, National Botanic Gardens

2nd: Jonathan Molloy, Teagasc College of Horticulture, National Botanic Gardens

3rd: (Joint): Lauren Moore, RHS Rosemoor; Kyle Ross, CAFRE Greenmount. 

5th: William Kenny, UCD

6th: Keelan Clarke, Homeland Garden Centre, Letterkenny 

7th: Cian Funge, Teagasc College of Horticulture, National Botanic Gardens

8th: Pierce Clarke, CAFRE Greenmount

The overall winner of the Grand Final will receive a travel bursary of £2500 (€2938.75), sponsored by the Shropshire Horticultural Society.

Read More:

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑